Southern African Development Community


The Southern African Development Community (SADC) established in 1980 is an inter-governmental organisation whose goal is to promote sustainable and equitable economic growth and socio-economic development through efficient productive systems, deeper co-operation and integration, good governance and durable peace and security among fifteen Southern African Member States. Among the protocols SADC implements is the Technical Barriers to Trade (TBT) Annex to the SADC Protocol on Trade under which there are seven TBT structures as follows:
    1. SADC Cooperation in Standardization (SADCSTAN)
    2. SADC Cooperation in Legal Metrology (SADCMEL)
    3. SADC Cooperation in Measurement Traceability (SADCMET)
    4. SADC Cooperation in Accreditation (SADCA)
    5. SADC Technical Regulation Liaison Committee (SADCTRLC)
    6. SADC Technical Barriers to Trade Stakeholder Committee (SADCTBTSC)
    7. SADC Technical Barriers to Trade Expert Group (TBTEG)
The seven structures form the SADC Standardization, Quality Assurance, Accreditation and Metrology (SQAM) body. The umbrella structure SADC Expert Group (TBTEG) is responsible for coordinating all the regional SQAM activities and supports the SADC Secretariat in an advisory capacity on TBT issues.




Download Our Brochure